2019

Paris 2024 Media Cluster

Grand Paris public spaces’ study

Grand Paris public spaces’ book

Emergence and ornament

The monumental statue of the Republic of Charles and Léopold Morice was inaugurated in 1883 in Paris on the eponymous square, almost a hundred years after the French Revolution. Within a century, Parisian squares and green areas have been filled with statues, as if the Notre-Dame’s stone book had spread into the public space of the capital city.

Method

Material

Infrastructure

Maine-Montparnasse

2018

T6B

Essec

The anarchitecture to Come

It is vital to look back on Gordon Matta-Clark’s work, among other reasons, to highlight little-known facets of a shape-shifting oeuvre. The exhibition “Gordon Matta-Clark: Anarchitect”, and the accompanying catalogue, do so by revealing Matta-Clark as truly engaged in his era, concerned with the nameless, the have-nots of his time

Architecture of the Ground

There is a striking paradox in the fact that, from that which is called architecture, commonly designing the world of buildings, the ground is excluded, in that the very area in which man has produced the most architecture – one could say that man has most “architectured” – in the course of his history, is precisely the ground itself.

Clichy-Batignolles

Avalanche

Antwerp Ring Road

Bry-sur-Marne

2017

Aubervilliers

Liquid Earth

With the Mediterranean Sea as their starting point, research collective Avalanche (TVK, Anyoji Beltrando and KH studio) reflects on the Sea and Earth as infrastructure. The Mediterranean as the birthplace of the Babylonian myth has been swallowed in a liquid infrastructure of global trading that turns the back to its hinterland and resettle in the open sea.

Meanwhile… On uchronia in architecture

The objective of TVK’s research is to grapple with the complexity and paradoxical character of the contemporary city, to pursue its construction in a time that would be on the one hand continuous -a set of rules that would transcend the contextual and contingent real (an utopia?)- and on the other hand, discontinuous, which, conceived in “seasons”, allows the project to always happen without linearity or certainty (an uchronia?). As such there is forged their concept of “screenwriting” (scénarisation), of urban design in particular and architecture in general.

Porte de Montreuil

IMGP – Campus Cachan

IMGP – Leclaire Clichy-sous-Bois

IMGP – Saint-Denis Pleyel

The Mediterranean in the middle of the Sea

The Mediterranean Sea, a space where some of the most powerful forms of urban living were born is today a vertiginous place. The Sea is at the same time bathing spot and place of death, a burning border between north and south.
2016

Lima Museum of Art

Pavilion of Tunisia

Boulogne

Reinventing Paris – Éole-Évangile

Brussels Goujons

Bobigny La Place

The Greater Paris or a new conquest of the city’s frontier

Paris’s inner suburbs form an urban ring that has its own existence and definition: a clearly legible space, a periphery, la ville du Périphérique [The Ring Road City]: a vast metropolitan open space

Lausanne train station square

Marseille Quartiers Libres

Reinventing Paris – M5A2

2015

Ourcq-Jaurès

Platform of Architectural Creation

Saint-Ouen

E40 Highway Brussels

The infrastructure clarifies the intermediate city

Faced with this fact, one strategy is possible: a “weak points” method, which would ‘tackle’ the little things, the weak points of the road system, and echo the increased importance of “weak signals”, in terms of mobility practices.

Lourmel

Nice Méridia

A metropolitan place

The public places around the metro stations of Greater Paris refer to the vague notion of metropolitan public place. To remedy this vagueness, I suggest that we look at the more precise issue of the metropolitan place. The public places around stations in fact represent the contact point between the metropolitan dimension (the network of mobility) and the place (the local territory).
2014

Like an Adolescent City

It is possible to see the construction of Thiers’s city wall in 1845 as the starting point of the modern adventure for Paris and the beginning of the building of the Parisian metropolis. Originally, the military rampart was a wall in the midst of fields, but one which founded a new city and an administrative boundary which today still defines an inside and an outside, a centre and a periphery…

Podia

TAKE 01

New Cities of New Worlds

The Greater Paris is a fiction. The reality is that of a famous, dense and extremely concentric European capital with its long and prestigious contribution to the history of urban planning, at the centre of a vast metropolitan area defying description
2013

Valenton

Arcueil housing

Système Ouvert

Notes on urban furniture

Street furniture’ is the term we use for objects that ‘inhabit’ the public environment, despite them not being mobile. What this term in fact designates is the non-immutable nature of objects that are liable to change more often than the city’s buildings.

Garonne-Eiffel or the nature/infrastructure combination

The metropolitan condition created by modernity has engendered such paradoxes that the future of metropolises will depend greatly on everybody’s capacity to surpass and harmonise them...

NUMA

Place de la République

Fluctuat Nec Mergitur Pavilion

2012

A4 Highway

Campus Condorcet

Campus Grand Parc

Jean-Jacques Bosc Bridge

Garonne-Eiffel Bordeaux

Cancer-Campus

This embedded monument is a receptacle for the expression of the strengths of a district.

Scenarisation

Can infrastructures be sustainable?

The sustainable city imperative must not lead to an obsession with the future, but being capable of thinking on a long-term basis, and therefore of also thinking in terms of the past. The sustainable transformation of metropolises must be a metamorphosis.
2010

Zero Energy school complex

Student housing

2009

Timber-framed house

Fourty years of urban theories

Deciphering the city as it exists presupposes understanding the most obscure and hard-to-describe urban phenomena. The fact is that the historical parts of the city are often well assimilated and well-known, while elements which are the hardest to understand are to be found among the most recent, among the emerging phenomena which form the city’s indescribable present…

The Greater Paris

Paris’s Ring Road: decoding a metropolitan territory

Preparing the beltway zone’s regeneration through projects for its transformation and metamorphosis is a huge challenge. Eliminating Paris’s beltway would be senseless because it represents an extremely important historic sedimentary layer.
2008

Club Med La Caravelle

No Limit

“No Limit” Introduction

The highroad is paradoxical. While it irrigates and opens up the world, it also divides and pollutes it. Roads and cars formerly brought adventure, freedom and development; now they are hated. However, the highroad is there, firmly present, still young and robust…
2005

Chaperon Vert masterplan

2003

The Ring Road City

2000

Porte de Bagnolet

In the contemporary city-dweller’s imagination and sensibility, the large-scale infrastructures so familiar to most of us are incompatible with the city.
1999

Paris’ Ring Road

2023

7-9 rue de l’Atlas

2021

Futur ouvert : de la planification à la scénarisation

Scènes d’un espace public qui se transforme

À l'opposé des représentations de projets urbains souvent concentrées sur l’avant/après, nos contributeurs imaginent des scénarios dynamiques de transformation de la ville. Pour le guide Places du Grand Paris ils dessinent le récit d’un quartier de gare fictif qui prend en compte toutes les temporalités et les aléas qui nourrissent le projet. Alors il n’est plus une destination mais un voyage…

La Courrouze

Grand Prix de l’Urbanisme 2021

Réinventer Paris – Éole-Évangile

Lyon Girondins, Lot 01

Lyon Girondins, Lot 12

Exposition Biennale de Venise 2021

Ouvrage La Terre est une architecture

La Saulaie

Exposition Future Assembly

Ouvrage Of Sand and Stones

2020

Partedis

Function imprints matter

Architecture du sol : Cinq archétypes pour la transformation urbaine

L’architecture n’est pas ce qui est posé sur la surface de la Terre par les humains mais la « forme qui sans cesse émerge du corps à corps des êtres vivants avec les matières terrestres ». TVK mène depuis plusieurs années une recherche sur la morphologie terrestre en reprenant les travaux de morphologie urbaine à l’aune du changement de regard anthropologique sur la nature que nous impose les crises du climat et du vivant.
2019

Cluster des Médias Paris 2024

Étude Places du Grand Paris

Ouvrage Places du Grand Paris

Émergence et ornement

La statue monumentale de la République de Charles et Léopold Morice a été inaugurée en 1883 à Paris sur la place du même nom, presque cent ans après la Révolution française. En l’espace d’un siècle, les places et les squares parisiens se sont remplis de statues, comme si le livre de pierre de Notre-Dame s’était répandu dans l’espace public de la capitale…

Méthode

Matière

Infrastructure

Maine-Montparnasse

Reinventing Cities – Houston

2018

T6B

Essec

L’anarchitecture qui vient

La nécessité de revenir sur le travail de Gordon Matta-Clark s’explique entre autres par la mise en valeur de pans méconnus d’une œuvre protéiforme. L’exposition « Gordon Matta-Clark anarchitecte » et son catalogue y parviennent grâce à la façon dont l’une et l’autre font découvrir un Matta-Clark réellement engagé dans son temps…

L’Architecture du sol

Il y a un paradoxe frappant dans le fait que ce que l’on nomme architecture désigne communément le monde des édifices en excluant celui du sol, alors que le domaine dans lequel l’Homme a produit le plus d’architecture – on pourrait dire que l’homme a le plus « architecturé » – au cours de son histoire, est précisément celui du sol lui-même.

Clichy-Batignolles

Avalanche

Ring d’Anvers

Bry-sur-Marne

Porte Pouchet

2017

Aubervilliers

Liquid Earth

Avec la mer Méditerranée pour point d’attache, le collectif de recherche Avalanche (TVK, Anyoji Beltrando et KH studio) reconsidère la Mer et la Terre comme des infrastructures. La Méditerranée, vue comme le berceau du mythe babylonien, est absorbée par la continuité liquide du système maritime planétaire, qui se dissocie du domaine terrestre et réoriente les logiques…

Et pendant ce temps… De l’uchronie en architecture

L’agence TVK de Pierre Alain Trévelo et Antoine Viger-Kohler, s’intéresse à la question de la construction de la ville et de la métropole dans le temps. L’objectif de leur recherche est de s’emparer de la complexité et du caractère paradoxal de la ville contemporaine pour en continuer la construction dans un temps à la fois continu, celui d’un ensemble de règles qui transcenderait le réel contextuel et contingent (une utopie ?) et discontinu qui, pensé en « saisons », permet au projet de toujours advenir sans linéarité ni certitude (une uchronie ?). Ainsi se forge leur concept de « scénarisation » de l’urbanisme en particulier et de l’architecture en général.

Porte de Montreuil

IMGP – Campus Cachan

IMGP – Leclaire Clichy-sous-Bois

IMGP – Saint-Denis Pleyel

La Méditerranée au milieu de la mer

À l’heure du suprématisme urbain et de sa doxa érigeant les métropoles en système organisant le monde, la mer Méditerranée, espace où fut inventée une des formulations les plus puissantes de l’urbanité et de la ville, est aujourd’hui un lieu vertigineux. Elle est simultanément un lieu de baignade et un lieu de mort, une frontière ardente entre nord et sud…
2016

Musée d’Art de Lima

Pavillon de la Tunisie

Boulogne

Goujons Bruxelles

Bobigny La Place

Le Grand Paris ou une autre conquête de la Frontière

C’est une épaisseur, la couronne parisienne, qui a une existence et une définition propres : un espace clairement lisible, une périphérie – la ville du Périphérique – : un  grand espace ouvert métropolitain.

Place de la gare de Lausanne

Quartiers Libres Marseille

Réinventer Paris – M5A2

2015

Ourcq-Jaurès

Plateforme de la création architecturale

Saint-Ouen

Autoroute E40 Bruxelles

L’infrastructure clarifie la ville intermédiaire

Face à ce constat, une stratégie est possible : une méthode des points faibles qui s’attaquerait aux petites choses, aux points faibles du système routier et ferait écho à l’importance accrue des signaux faibles en termes de pratiques de mobilité.

Lourmel

Nice Méridia

Un lieu métropolitain

L’espace public aux abords des gares du métro du Grand Paris renvoie à la notion floue d’espace public métropolitain. Pour dissiper ce flou, je propose de nous intéresser à la question plus précise du lieu métropolitain. En effet, l’espace public aux abords des gares constitue le point de contact entre la dimension métropolitaine (le réseau de mobilité) et le lieu (le territoire local).
2014

Comme une ville adolescente

On peut voir la construction de l’enceinte de Thiers en 1845 comme le point de départ de l’aventure moderne pour Paris et le lancement de la construction de la métropole parisienne. À l’origine, le rempart militaire est un mur au milieu des champs, mais qui fonde une nouvelle ville et une limite administrative qui définit, aujourd’hui encore, un dedans et un dehors, un centre et une périphérie…

Podia

TAKE 01

Villes Nouvelles ou Nouveaux Mondes

Le Grand Paris est une fiction. La réalité est celle d’une fameuse capitale européenne, dense et fortement concentrique, avec un long et prestigieux CV dans l’histoire de l’urbanisme, plantée au cœur d’une vaste « aire métropolitaine » qui défie la description.
2013

Valenton

Logements Arcueil

Système Ouvert

Notes sur le mobilier urbain

Serait-il possible alors de recharger la réflexion sur le mobilier urbain au travers de ces notions : celle de l’identité et de la permanence d’une part et celle des usages, donc des changements des modes de vie, des évolutions et de la mobilité d’autre part ?

Garonne-Eiffel ou la combinaison entre nature et infrastructure

La condition métropolitaine née de la modernité a engendré des paradoxes tels que l’avenir des métropoles dépendra beaucoup de la capacité de chacune à les dépasser et les harmoniser…

NUMA

Place de la République

Pavillon Fluctuat Nec Mergitur

2012

Autoroute A4

Campus Condorcet

Campus Grand Parc

Pont Jean-Jacques Bosc

Garonne-Eiffel Bordeaux

Cancer-Campus

Ce monument enterré est un réceptacle pour l’expression des forces du quartier.

Scénarisation

Les infrastructures peuvent-elles être durables ?

L’impératif ville durable ne doit pas mener à être obnubilé par le futur, mais à être capable de penser le temps long, donc à faire aussi le lien avec le passé. La transformation durable des métropoles doit s’apparenter à une métamorphose.

ZAC Lyon Girondins

2010

Groupe scolaire Énergie Zéro

Résidence pour étudiants

2009

Maison à ossature bois

Quarante ans de théorie urbaine

Déchiffrer la ville existante suppose de comprendre les phénomènes urbains les plus obscurs, les plus indescriptibles. Or les parties historiques de la ville sont souvent bien assimilées et connues, tandis que les éléments les plus difficiles à comprendre sont à trouver parmi les plus récentes parmi  les phénomènes émergents…

Le Grand Paris

Le Boulevard périphérique : décryptage d’un territoire métropolitain aux identités multiples

Préparer le Boulevard périphérique à se régénérer à travers des projets de transformation et de métamorphose représente un enjeu considérable. Effacer le Boulevard périphérique n’aurait aucun sens. En effet, il représente une couche historique sédimentaire extrêmement importante.
2008

Club Med La Caravelle

No Limit

Introduction à « No Limit »

La grande route est paradoxale. En même temps qu’elle irrigue et ouvre le monde, elle le divise et le pollue. La route et les automobiles furent adorées. Elles apportaient l’aventure, la liberté, le développement. Elles sont maintenant détestées : elles nous ont enfumés, assourdis et coupés de nos voisins. Mais la grande route est là, bien présente, encore jeune et robuste…
2005

Chaperon Vert

2003

La Ville du Périphérique

2000

Porte de Bagnolet

Dans l’imaginaire et la sensibilité des citadins contemporains, les grosses infrastructures, pourtant si familières à la plupart d'entre eux, ne font pas bon ménage avec la ville.
1999

Périphérique de Paris