Back to Architecture

Grand Paris public spaces’ study

With the prospect of defining the qualities, philosophy and design method common to the 68 public spaces of the stations of the new Grand Paris Express Metro, this study, carried out by a multidisciplinary team led by TVK, is an opportunity to conduct research on the public space in Greater Paris. Nearly 20% of the Île-de-France's ground surface area is public space. This shared ground is a repository for both past history and future civilization issues. It constitutes an essential common good, a support for travel and meeting in the metropolis.

 

Its development must be built on a common culture, which articulates a reflection on the ground with a reflection on time. Thinking each new project in these two dimensions, spatial and temporal, will guarantee the inalienable character of public space as well as its capacity to respond to the social and ecological challenges of tomorrow.

Program

Study to define the principles of conception for the public spaces around the future metro Grand Paris Express stations

Location

68 stations of the Grand Paris Express, Greater Paris

Area

200 km of new railway lines

Date

2017-2019

Team

TVK (lead architect and urban designer), TN+ (landscape architect), Soline Nivet (narrative, conceptualisation), Ville Ouverte (governance, workshop organization), Géraldine Texier-Rideau (historian), Antoine Fleury (geographer), Étienne Ballan (sociologist), ON (lighting consultant), RR&A (traffic and movement consultants), Yes We Camp (uses and space activation), Franck Boutté Consultants (environment consultant)

Photographies

Sylvain Duffard (Grand Paris landscapes) et Julien Lelièvre (models and book)

TVK team

David Enon (project director), Jihana Nassif, Antoine Bertaudière, Sarah Sauton

Typologies
Projects, Public spaces, Networks
The urban archipelago with 17 territories
The urban archipelago with 17 territories

The ground as a project

 

The ground is not only a surface area, to be looked at solely in plan view. It constitutes a thickness, spread between depth and the sky and composed of several interacting layers: the subsoil, the surface and the atmosphere. It forms a global environment in which human uses and activities take place, the nature and quality of which it conditions.

 

Therefore, the issue is that of considering its design conception as an architectural project in its own right: an act of drawing and mastery, which combines and moulds different elements - networks, materials, vegetation, climate, etc – supporting a stronger habitability. Let us contribute to making it a comfortable environment, propitious to human activities, by paying specific attention to its materiality, its robustness, the quality and the simplicity of its implementation.

Arcueil–Cachan’s site © Sylvain Duffard (photos)
Arcueil–Cachan’s site © Sylvain Duffard (photos)
Clichy–Montfermeil’s site © Sylvain Duffard (photos)
Clichy–Montfermeil’s site © Sylvain Duffard (photos)

Almost 20% of the Ile-de-France's surface ground area is constituted of public space.

Sections: 15 (South, West and East), 16, 17 and 18 lines
Sections: 15 (South, West and East), 16, 17 and 18 lines

Time as a resource
 

Progression, successive reinterventions, forecasts, anticipations, assumptions, acceleration effects or, on the contrary, slowed paces: the time of the public space project is complex, infrequently homogeneous or linear. The temporalities of public space also go along those of ecology and climate. Locating it in a perspective of sustainability implies taking into account the rhythms of the living and natural cycles.

 

In order for the public space to be in touch with the evolution of the territory, we propose to consider time not as a constraint but on the contrary as the main material of a reflection on the ground: the time which precedes the project, the one which succeeds it, but also the one which composes it. A more progressive approach will thus be adopted, by incorporating actions into the project design that could precede or accompany the building site. These actions are not "temporary" but an integral part of a gradual transformation of the site.

 

© Travaux-Pratiques (graphic design), Julien Lelièvre (photos)
© Travaux-Pratiques (graphic design), Julien Lelièvre (photos)

Continuity, evolvability, availability

 

There is no single solution to the diversity of situations and the extent of development schedules, but rather values to be shared. Guiding the design conception of the 68 public spaces hinges on the formulation of three major ambitions for future public spaces: their continuity, evolvability and availability.

 

The continuity relies upon on the recognition and amplification of everything that pre-exists and surrounds the project, which is an opportunity to produce or consolidate the links between the urban designs (existing, current or future) and their contexts. The establishing of continuity in the urban landscapes does not mean their standardisation but the enhancement of their sequencing, thresholds and concatenations.

 

Public space is the long-term repository of the city, and its sustainability is directly linked to its evolvability. This implies the designing of projects that will have to adapt to changes and the unforeseeable. Evolvability is based on the dissociation of the permanent and the temporary: the ground must be able to last while admitting that its facilities may change.

 

The availability relies on the fundamental vocation of public space: ensuring equal access to the city and to urban resources. It involves making places open, welcoming and manifest to everyone, without this meaning that everything is allowed, and hinges on the capacity of spaces to create a coexistence of uses and functions.

 

These three major ambitions guide 40 design principles for public space projects. Proposals and objectives more than pre-established recipes, these principles invite the sharing of a project-approach, and their implementation is left to the discretion of the designers and project owners.

 

The result of a three-year study carried out by a multidisciplinary team led by TVK, the book Places du Grand Paris is a guide to the design of public spaces in Greater Paris which aspires to contribute to the construction of a common culture of public spaces. It was developed for the attention of the project owners and designers of the public spaces of the 68 future stations of the Grand Paris Express, in order to support them in the monitoring, programming, design and management of their public spaces. This common culture relies on the conviction that public space must be conceived in its multiple dimensions, both in the thickness of its ground and in the depth of its temporalities.

 

To communicate in an open and inclusive way the elements of this culture, the work articulates practical as well as theoretical statements, around a varied iconographic corpus (drawings, photographs, models, documents, maps) conveying public space as an imaginary and evolving field of experimentation.

Back to Architecture

Étude Places du Grand Paris

Dans la perspective de définir les qualités, la philosophie et la méthode de conception communes aux 68 espaces publics des gares du nouveau métro du Grand Paris Express, cette étude réalisée par une équipe pluridisciplinaire dirigée par TVK est l’occasion de mener une recherche sur l’espace public grand-parisien. Près de 20% de la surface du sol de l’Île-de-France relève de l’espace public. Ce sol partagé est dépositaire tant de l’histoire passée que des enjeux civilisationnels à venir. Il constitue un bien commun essentiel, support du déplacement et de la rencontre dans la métropole.

Son aménagement doit se construire sur une culture commune, qui articule une réflexion sur le sol à une réflexion sur le temps. Penser chaque nouveau projet dans ces deux dimensions, spatiale et temporelle, garantira le caractère inaliénable de l’espace public ainsi que sa capacité à répondre aux défis sociaux et écologiques de demain.

Programme

Étude de définition des principes de conception des espaces publics autour des gares du futur métro du Grand Paris Express

Maître d’ouvrage
Contexte

68 gares du Grand Paris Express, Grand Paris

Surface

200 km de lignes nouvelles

Date

2017-2019

Équipe

TVK (architecte urbaniste mandataire), TN+ (paysagiste), Soline Nivet (mise en récit, conceptualisation), Ville Ouverte (gouvernance et animation des ateliers), Géraldine Texier-Rideau (historienne), Antoine Fleury (géographe), Étienne Ballan (sociologue), ON (concepteur lumière), RR&A (expert mobilité et intermodalité), Yes We Camp (usages et activations), Franck Boutté Consultants (environnement). 

Photographies

Sylvain Duffard (paysages du Grand Paris) et Julien Lelièvre (maquettes et livre)

Équipe TVK

David Enon (directeur de projet), Jihana Nassif, Antoine Bertaudière, Sarah Sauton

Typologies
Projets, Espaces publics, Réseaux
Concepts
Scénarisation, Infrastructure, Architecture du sol, Gares/Mobilités, Matière
Archipel urbain aux 17 identités
Archipel urbain aux 17 identités
Ruptures et continuités paysagères
Ruptures et continuités paysagères
Continuités de l’espace public
Continuités de l’espace public

Le sol comme projet


Le sol n’est pas uniquement une superficie, à ne regarder qu’en plan. Il constitue une épaisseur, comprise entre la profondeur et le ciel et composée de plusieurs strates qui interagissent : le sous-sol, la surface et l’atmosphère. Il forme un milieu global dans lequel prennent place les usages et activités humaines, dont il conditionne la nature et la qualité.

Dès lors, il s’agit de considérer sa conception comme un projet d’architecture à part entière : un acte de dessin et de maîtrise, qui combine et façonne différents éléments – réseaux, matériaux, végétaux, climat… – au service d’une habitabilité plus forte. Contribuons à en faire un milieu confortable et propice aux activités humaines en portant une attention particulière à sa matérialité, à sa robustesse, à la qualité et à la simplicité de sa mise en œuvre.

Site d’Arcueil – Cachan
Site d’Arcueil – Cachan
Site d’Arcueil – Cachan
Site d’Arcueil – Cachan
Site de Clichy – Montfermeil
Site de Clichy – Montfermeil
Site de Clichy – Montfermeil
Site de Clichy – Montfermeil

Près de 20% de la surface du sol de l’Île-de-France relève de l’espace public.

Coupes : Lignes 15 (sud, ouest et est), 16, 17 et 18
Coupes : Lignes 15 (sud, ouest et est), 16, 17 et 18

Le temps comme ressource


Progression, réinterventions successives, prévisions, anticipations, suppositions, effets d’accélération ou au contraire cadences ralenties : le temps du projet d’espace public est complexe, rarement homogène ni linéaire. Les temporalités de l’espace public rencontrent aussi celles de l’écologie et du climat. L’inscrire dans une perspective de durabilité suppose de prendre en compte les rythmes du vivant et les cycles naturels.

Pour que l’espace public soit en prise avec l’évolution du territoire, nous proposons d’envisager le temps non pas comme une contrainte mais au contraire comme le matériau principal d’une réflexion sur le sol : le temps qui précède au projet, celui qui lui succède, mais aussi celui qui le compose. On adoptera alors une approche plus progressive en intégrant à la conception du projet des actions qui pourraient précéder ou accompagner le chantier. Ces actions ne sont pas « provisoires », mais partie intégrante d’une transformation progressive du site.

© Travaux-Pratiques (conception graphique), Julien Lelièvre (photos)
© Travaux-Pratiques (conception graphique), Julien Lelièvre (photos)

Continuité, évolutivité, disponibilité


Il n’y a pas de solution unique face à la diversité des situations et à l’étendue des calendriers d’aménagement, mais plutôt des valeurs à partager. Guider la conception des 68 espaces publics repose sur l’énonciation de trois grandes ambitions pour les futurs espaces publics : leur continuité, leur évolutivité et leur disponibilité.

La continuité se fonde sur la reconnaissance et l’amplification de tout ce qui préexiste et environne le projet. Celui-ci est une opportunité pour produire ou consolider les liens entre les aménagements (existants, en cours ou à venir) et leurs contextes. La mise en continuité des paysages urbains ne signifie pas leur uniformisation mais la valorisation de leurs séquençages, seuils et enchaînements.

L’espace public est le dépositaire du temps long de la ville et sa durabilité est directement liée à son évolutivité. Cela qui implique de concevoir des projets qui devront s’adapter aux changements et à l’imprévu. L’évolutivité se fonde sur la dissociation du permanent et du temporaire : le sol doit pouvoir perdurer tout en admettant que ses équipements puissent changer.

La disponibilité se fonde sur la vocation fondamentale de l’espace public : assurer une égalité d’accès à la ville et aux ressources urbaines. Elle suppose de rendre les lieux ouverts, accueillants et évidents pour tous, sans pour autant que tout y soit permis, et repose sur la capacité des espaces à faire cohabiter les usages et les fonctions.

Ces trois grandes ambitions orientent 40 principes de conception pour les projets d'espaces publics. Propositions et objectifs plus que recettes préétablies, ces principes invitent à partager une démarche de projet et leur mise en œuvre est laissée à l'appréciation des concepteurs et des maîtres d'ouvrage.

 


Télécharger l’ouvrage en PDF