Back to Architecture

Campus Condorcet

In an age when data and exchanges are losing their material character, when work is being done at home, and when decentralized university villages are being built, the ground-breaking decision by the Condorcet Campus to make use of the Plaine-Saint-Denis, an area undergoing far-reaching changes in the heart of the Île-de-France metropolis, is a meaningful one. By bringing together those élite establishments known as “grandes écoles” (EHESS, EPHE, Ecole des Chartes), along with universities (Paris 1, Paris 3, Paris 8 and Paris 13) and research laboratories around the Human Sciences and shared amenities, the Campus is being turned into an active principle underpinning the re-invention of a whole district, giving rise to a specific type of urbanity and a new kind of city life.

The urban proposal put forward by the group of designers headed by TVK is organized around an encompassing outer area, creating by way of a void the union between the city and the Campus, unifying the various ingredients of the scientific project, and constructing a powerful identity at the same time as a centrality in the heart of the Plaine-Saint-Denis. By incorporating areas of thoroughfare and gathering within a place with a high identity value, the plan’s intent is to encourage the circulation of ideas and bolster the spirit of convergence that constitutes the scientific project.

Program

Development of the Condorcet Campus, a Human Sciences Research Campus at Aubervilliers
Design of two buildings in the Condorcet Campus (INED and EPCS), and a project centre – university research offices, administrative restaurant, class rooms

Client

Bouygues Délégations et partenariats publics

Developer

EPCS Campus Condorcet

Location

Aubervilliers, France

Area

7 ha – 65,000 m² SDP including research (32,000 m²), residences (19,000 m²), major amenities (8,000 m²), shared services (6,000 m²).

Date

Competitive dialogue 2012-2015

Team

INED + EPCS : TVK (mandataires), OLM (paysage), AIA ingénierie, BTP consultants (sécurité incendie), Convergence (cuisiniste)
Projet urbain : TVK (mandataires), OLM (paysage), Kengo Kuma & Associates, Brenac et Gonzales, Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Chartier Dalix (architectes), AIA ingénierie, BTP consultants (sécurité incendie), Convergence (cuisiniste)

Équipe TVK

David Enon, Gianluca Mezzanotte (project managers), Sarra Bakail, Sophie Euscheler, Victor Francisco, Emmanuelle Halbout, Amélie Legay,Gemma Mila, Elsa Nougues

Typologies
Projects, Offices, Masterplans, Mixed-use

The INED and the EPCS are situated in the central area of the Campus, beside the Main Documentary Facility. These buildings thus form a programmatic environment that is at once specific, prestigious and permanent, definitively established in phase 1 of the construction of the Campus. Area 2, which thus accommodates outstanding amenities and institutions, becomes a very specific place in the Campus, whose plan is an exceptional one.

In this very open context, the buildings enhance the Main Documentary Facility and dialogue with the adjacent streets (rue des Fillettes and rue Waldeck Rochet), forming object-like buildings, surrounded by void, and easily walked around. To the west they face the Square Condorcet, an unobstructed pedestrian space, formed by passages running a cross lawns which constitute their forecourt. Enhanced by this openness, they have an undeniable monumental function, related to the prestige of the institutions they house.

INED Building: Ground floor plan
INED Building: Ground floor plan
EPCS Building: Ground floor plan
EPCS Building: Ground floor plan
INED Building: 2nd floor plan
INED Building: 2nd floor plan
EPCS Building: 1st floor plan
EPCS Building: 1st floor plan
INED Building: Section
INED Building: Section
EPCS Building: Section
EPCS Building: Section

Back to Architecture

Campus Condorcet

À l’heure de la dématérialisation des données et des échanges, du travail à distance et de la construction de villages universitaires décentralisés, le choix fondateur du Campus Condorcet d’investir la Plaine-Saint-Denis, un territoire en complète métamorphose au cœur de la métropole francilienne, est significatif. En y regroupant grandes écoles (EHESS, EPHE, école des Chartes), universités (Paris 1, Paris 3, Paris 8 et Paris 13) et laboratoires de recherche (INED, CNRS) autour des Sciences de l’Homme et d’équipements mutualisés, il fait de la construction du Campus un principe actif de la réinvention d’un quartier, générant un type d’urbanité spécifique et une nouvelle vie urbaine.

La proposition urbaine formulée par l’équipe de concepteurs menée par TVK s’articule autour d’un espace extérieur fédérateur, fondant par le vide l’union entre la ville et le Campus, unifiant les différentes composantes du projet scientifique et construisant une identité forte en même temps qu’une centralité au cœur de la Plaine Saint-Denis. Intégrant espaces de cheminement et de rassemblement au sein d’un lieu à haute valeur identitaire, elle entend favoriser la circulation des idées et renforcer l’esprit de convergence constitutif du projet scientifique.

Programme

Aménagement du Campus Condorcet, Campus de recherche en Sciences de l’Homme
Conception de deux bâtiments du campus (INED et EPCS), hôtel à projets – bureaux de recherche universitaire, restaurant administratif, salles d’enseignement

Maître d’ouvrage

Bouygues Délégations et partenariats publics

Aménageur

EPCS Campus Condorcet

Contexte

Aubervilliers (93), France

Surface

7 ha – 65 000 m² SDP dont recherche (32 000 m²), résidences (19 000 m²), grands équipements (8 000 m²), services mutualisés (6 000 m²)

Date

Dialogue compétitif 2012-2015

Équipe

INED + EPCS : TVK (mandataires), OLM (paysage), AIA ingénierie, BTP consultants (sécurité incendie), Convergence (cuisiniste)
Projet urbain : TVK (mandataires), OLM (paysage), Kengo Kuma & Associates, Brenac et Gonzales, Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Chartier Dalix (architectes), AIA ingénierie, BTP consultants (sécurité incendie), Convergence (cuisiniste)

Équipe TVK

David Enon, Gianluca Mezzanotte (chefs de projet), Sarra Bakail, Sophie Euscheler, Victor Francisco, Emmanuelle Halbout, Amélie Legay,Gemma Mila, Elsa Nougues

Typologies
Projets, Bureaux, Projets urbains, Mixtes
Concepts
Complexité, Grand Paris

L’INED et l’EPCS prennent place sur l’îlot central du Campus, aux côtés du Grand Équipement Documentaire. Ces bâtiments constituent donc un environnement programmatique à la fois spécifique, prestigieux et pérenne, mis en place définitivement dès la phase 1 de construction du Campus. L’îlot 2, accueillant ainsi des équipements et institutions remarquables, devient un lieu très spécifique du Campus, dont l’aménagement fait figure d’exception. 

Dans ce contexte très ouvert, les bâtiments mettent en valeur le Grand Équipement Documentaire et dialoguent avec les rues adjacentes (rue des Fillettes et rue Waldeck Rochet), constituent des bâtiments objets, entourés par le vide et que l’on contourne facilement. Ils font face, à l’ouest, au Square Condorcet, un espace dégagé et de déambulation, constitué de passages qui traversent des pelouses, qui constitue leur parvis. Mis en valeur par ce dégagement, ils se chargent d’une indéniable fonction monumentale, en relation avec le prestige des institutions qu’ils accueillent.

Bâtiment INED : Plan rez-du-chaussée
Bâtiment INED : Plan rez-du-chaussée
Bâtiment EPCS : Plan rez-de-chaussée
Bâtiment EPCS : Plan rez-de-chaussée
Bâtiment INED : Plan R+2
Bâtiment INED : Plan R+2
Bâtiment EPCS : Plan R+1
Bâtiment EPCS : Plan R+1
Bâtiment INED : Coupe
Bâtiment INED : Coupe
Bâtiment EPCS : Coupe
Bâtiment EPCS : Coupe