Back to Architecture

Système Ouvert

In the thirty years of postwar prosperity – known as the Trente Glorieuses – the construction of new towns and cities brought together, in a single metropolitan project, many different goals involving regional housing plans, mobility and competitiveness. The “mechanics of size”, which governed the development of new towns and cities, was based on the cult of performance and the cult of the “grand design”, written in stone. These logical development systems still exist today, but the operational context has nevertheless evolved.

Like metropolitan developments, planning thus has to initiate a transition: a shift from the design of a looped transport network to that of a gridded and interconnected system; encouraging a model of territorial specialization to evolve towards greater integration; seeking forms of urbanistic potential in the intensification of certain intermediary areas, getting beyond the centrality/periphery contrast and the precedence given to notions of contiguity, density, and centre. Discovering today’s “new cities” calls for regarding the metropolis as an open system, organizing territories and networks. The sphere of action of this openness lies in these intermediary situations and these metropolitan areas, where projects cannot be contained within perimeters. To do this, the actual planning method needs to be reformed.

But how? Based on what models? The Scenarisation method proposes an adaptable model which creates a link between long time (the usual planning horizon) and present time, which takes external ups and downs into account and permits a retroactive re-appraisal of the metropolitan narrative based on its developments. This study offers a scenarisation example of the future of the Ile-de-France in four seasons, anticipating the endogenous innovations, societal changes and impact of major projects.

Authors

TVK, Acadie, Güller Güller

Publisher

Atelier International du Grand Paris

Date

2013

Language

French

Typologies
Writings, Books
Concepts
Greater Paris, Complexity

Back to Architecture

Système Ouvert

Durant les Trente Glorieuses, la construction des villes nouvelles a associé en un unique projet métropolitain des ambitions multiples sur les plans de l’habitat, de la mobilité et de la compétitivité régionales. Les « mécaniques de la grandeur » qui ont présidé à l’aménagement des villes nouvelles, s’appuyaient sur le culte de la performance et sur celui du « grand dessin » figé. Ces logiques d’aménagement perdurent aujourd’hui mais le contexte opératoire a cependant évolué.

À l’image des évolutions métropolitaines, la planification doit ainsi amorcer une transition : passer de la conception d’un réseau de transports en boucle à celle d’un système maillé et interconnecté ; faire évoluer un modèle de spécialisation des territoires vers plus d’intégration ; aller chercher les potentiels d’urbanisation dans l’intensification de certains territoires intermédiaires, dépassant l’opposition centralité/périphérie et la primauté donnée aux notions de contiguïté, de densité et de centre. Découvrir les « villes nouvelles » d’aujourd’hui demande de considérer la métropole comme un système ouvert, articulant les territoires et les réseaux. Cette ouverture trouve son champ d’action dans ces situations intermédiaires, ces parages métropolitains, dont les projets ne peuvent être contenus à l’intérieur de périmètres. Pour ce faire, la méthode même de la planification doit être réformée.

Mais de quelle manière ? À partir de quels modèles ? La scénarisation propose un modèle souple qui crée un fil entre temps long (horizon habituel de la planification) et temps présent, qui prend en compte les aléas extérieurs et autorise une réévaluation rétroactive du récit métropolitain en fonction de ses évolutions. Cette étude propose un exemple de scénarisation du futur francilien en quatre saisons, anticipant les innovations endogènes, les transformations sociétales et l’impact des grands projets.

Auteurs

TVK, Acadie, Güller Güller

Édition

Atelier International du Grand Paris

Date

2013

Langue

Français

Typologies
Écrits, Livres
Concepts
Grand Paris, Complexité